What is Your Spiritual Fantasy?

by Michael Khouri

 

Have you ever thought about your spiritual fantasy? Maybe it’s something you’ve always wanted to do that you believe will bring you more spiritually in tune with the universe.  Maybe a retreat?  A hike across the desert? Living in silence for a certain amount of time?

How do you envision yourself after you have obtained the spiritual level you desire?  Will you be powerful? At peace?  Completely, euphorically happy?

Occasionally I’ve had a peak experience, “a sudden feeling of intense happiness and well-being, wonder and awe”.  These brief experiences have brought me an awareness and knowledge of a higher truth and have opened me up to creativity and wonder.  It also left me craving more.

My Spiritual Goal is to have the ability and knowledge to reach the highest peak experience at any time and be in that state for as long as I need to be.   Wikipedia quotes that  the highest peaks include “feelings of limitless horizons opening up to the vision, the feeling of being simultaneously more powerful and also more helpless than one ever was before, the feeling of great ecstasy and wonder and awe, and the loss of placing in time and space”.  This spiritual goal is clear to me, but how to get there?

I believe that we could experience more peaks but we get in our own way by not listening to our intuition. Our intuition is our way of communicating with the higher truth and we so often ignore it because we are afraid.  We don’t listen to that inner voice or respond to that spontaneous drive because the idea might be so out there that we fear what others will think of us, or what the outcome might be. We repress our intuition and ignore it and it becomes harder and harder to hear.

What do you think happens to you when we don’t follow your intuition?  Well, for me, I can take a look in the mirror and see that my life is good, but I know, deep down inside, it’s not the way I should be living my life.  I do follow my intuition and spontaneous drive most of the time, but I too get so sucked into life and what I’m “supposed” to do, that I believe this is why I am always so restless and always searching more.

My Spiritual Fantasy: For as long as I can remember I’ve always wanted to go to Ireland and live in a small country cottage, by myself for a minimum of three months to study, meditate, pray, and reach the highest level of spirituality possible. I’ve always felt that Ireland was an extremely spiritual place and I I know that I would experience more there then I could ever imagine.  This is one of my spiritual fantasies, it always has been and I cant wait to one day take that journey.

Leave a Reply

