How To Lose Stress Weight

It is November 1st, a new month, a fresh start, a do-over, but also one of my favorite days of the entire year.  The Christmas season is just beginning to peak through, Fall is in full swing with it’s crisp air, and it is the day after gorging on Halloween candy, sweets, and drinks. A perfect day to start a new weight loss routine.

I often reminisce about when I was at my peak physically, I have always been fit, but a couple of moments in my life really stick out.  One is in high school, I was on the swim team and would also run after school. I was in such good shape, I never seemed to get tired. Another moment is when I was in the Army after completing basic training.  I mean, c’mon, who wouldn’t be in good shape?  But I always remember the feeling of being firm, sleek and soft all at the same time.

When you are under intense stress for a long period of time, it can do some serious damage your your body.  The list is very, very long on the ways stress damages us.  Add anxiety and depression to the list, and you might turn into a blob like me, all soft and squishy, and well, like a blobfish.

Blobfish

I know for a fact that stress is the main reason for the damage that’s been done to my body.   I would drink wine to relax and cope with my stress in the evening and then need coffee in the morning as a boost to get me going.  It was a viscous cycle that only added to the stress on my body.  What it did was lower my immune system and I developed a debilitating autoimmune disease called Minere’s Disease.  During this passed year, I have learned to deal with my stress, rather than drown it, and because of that, the symptoms of this disease have vastly decreased.

But, I am still a blob.

I want my body back.  I want to feel firm, sleek and soft again instead of squishy.  I want to be able to look in the mirror and see ME, not the flabby stranger who is staring back at me.  I want my muscles back, my hourglass figure, and my flat stomach.   I’m ready.  But how?

Here are a few things to keep in mind when trying to lose stress weight.

  1. Listen to your body. When you begin to feel stress -tightness in your shoulders, panicky feeling, irritability- do what you need to do to kick its ass WITHOUT going into the kitchen!  Stress eating is the #1 reason for stress weight.  Watch for triggers -finances, relationships, work-  that make you want to gorge yourself on ice cream, chips, or even alcohol.  Write down the trigger -so you’ll be able to recognize it- and then kick stress’s ass, without food. Deep breathing, yoga, a walk around the block, laugh-out-loud, journal, phoning a friend to vent, finding a quiet space, scream into a pillow, exercise. Which brings me to #2.
  2. Get your blood pumping daily. Have some fun! Go for a brisk walk, hike, get up and dance, march in place, jumping jacks, jump rope, shadow boxing, punch your couch, jump on your bed, have sex, swim naked, run barefoot, surf, ski, cycle…do something, anything. Just get your blood pumping, everyday!  It’s so fun and balances out the stress in our system.
  3. Sleep. Give your body, mind and spirit time to rest, heal, and rejuvenate. Some nights you might only need 6 hours and some nights you might need ten.  Naps are also wonderful when you are feeling grumpy.

fun!

I am finally in a good place in my life to begin a weight loss journey and today is a perfect day to start.

There are SO MANY diets, and magic pills, and fad exercises, it’s overwhelming and I don’t want this to be overwhelming.

I want to enjoy this journey.

I want to lose weight and look good and feel good.

I don’t want it to be this elaborate, exhausting process.

I don’t want it to be a big deal that consumes me.

I just want it to be a part of my regular life.

I want to be healthy because that’s who I am.

I will be AM healthy because:

  • I make healthy food choices.
  • I keep a food journal. If I bite it, I write it.
  • I do fun fitness, running barefoot, cycling, and doing anything on my living room floor.
  • I avoid alcohol, coffee and other chemicals in my body.
  • I am accountable to you by sharing my progress and updating my weight loss tracker (bottom of every page).

 

Leave a Reply

