I Love to Write, But I Hate My Writing

“There is nothing to writing.

All you do is sit down at a typewriter and bleed.”
Ernest Hemingway

I love to write, but I hate my writing.

I am a free-flow writer. I just write the way it sounds in my head. I disregard grammar and writing rules.

I just write.

“We write to taste life twice,

in the moment and in retrospect.”
Anaïs Nin

But when I know someone else is going to read it. I go back and edit. I cut and paste. Move stuff around. Reword. And eventually, it’s not even close to what I was saying to begin with.

It starts to sounds like a school paper.

The first draft of anything is shit.”
Ernest Hemingway

It’s so frustrating to me because one article ends up taking me fucking forever to write. I want it to be perfect, and it ends up sucking ass.

And I end up hating what I wrote. And I get discouraged and start to lose my fire to write.

“You must stay drunk on writing

so reality cannot destroy you.”
Ray Bradbury

So from here on out, I am going to free-flow write. I don’t care if it sounds choppy. I don’t care if I go off topic.  However it is in my head, it will be on paper. Or computer. Whatever.

Grrr. <<— yes, I growled in my head.

It’s my blog, ya know? Sure, I am writing for you, to you, but it’s MY writing.  My thoughts. My ideas.  My sucky writing.

So what?

All writers are lunatics!”
Cornelia Funke, Inkspell

I accept that it wont be perfect, that the grammar will be awful, the spelling might be off, and there will surly be some cussing. I hope that you can accept it too.

What a load off my mind. It’s been really bugging me the last few nights.  It took the fun out of it.  I’m not in school!

Thank you. Thank you for reading my thoughts, my ramblings, my crappy writing.  Thank you for letting me be the way I am.

“Writing is like sex.

First you do it for love,

then you do it for your friends,

and then you do it for money.”
Virginia Woolf

2 responses to “I Love to Write, But I Hate My Writing

Leave a Reply

