Working Graveyard Shift

I am a night owl. I always have been. When I have a few days off of work, I say up later, and later, and later each night until I am up all night. Then I have to go back to work on only an hour or so of sleep. Pretty much sucks.

Drawn by Me

Well, I finally found a job where I will be able to work the graveyard shift. Its in a hospital, which is pretty cool, and super creepy. I am excited!  I’ll be working four 10 hour shifts, with three days off, obviously.

I’ve been getting a lot of negative feedback from people about me starting this shift. Maybe it’s because they are morning people? Or negative? Or jealous? (<- ha!  Jealousy always amuses me). Whatever the reason is, I guess it doesn’t really matter because I can only think of good things about working this shift.

  1. Its more money!
  2. I’m up anyways!
  3. I get to pick up and drop off my kids at school, EVERYDAY! I’ve never been able to do that.
  4. We get to have dinner every night, together. And breakfast, every morning!
  5. On my days off I’ll keep the same sleep schedule so I can stay up all night and write!  With NO interruptions!
    “You never have to change anything you got up in the middle of the night to write.”― Saul Bellow
  6. I will have a set schedule! EVERYDAY! Can you imagine that?  I can actually have a routine!
  7. I am going to get more sleep now that I ever have before! I will sleep while the kids are in school during the week. Take naps if I need to. And sleep in on weekends like everyone else, only it’ll be during the day, which is more natural for me.
  8. I don’t have to deal with commuter traffic during peak crappy traffic hours.
  9. The hospital will be less busy with people, but more busy with tasks for my job. Cool!

I love the night, especially the early morning hours when everything is still and quiet. It’s peaceful and magical. I am always more creative at night. At peace and calm.  It soothes me.  You would think that it would make me want to sleep, and sometimes, it does, but mostly, it rejuvenates me.

Working a shift that finally suits me is going to change everything for me and my little family.

Leave a Reply

