Listen! Your Body is Trying to Tell You Something

Now that my diet is changing once again, I have decided to do something that I rarely do: actually listen to my body’s cravings. What does it really want?

I would like to think that this is something I already do naturally, but I know its not. We are so bombarded with different smells, planned menus, schedules, routines, articles, cooking shows; it gets really hard to hear our basic instincts.

For this past week I have been trying to pay extra attention to the cravings I have. There is a fine line between what I think I want and what I really want, and I really have to stop and quiet my mind for a few minutes to hear what I need to be eating.

So far each day seems to vary with my desires, but one thing is certain, I’m not as hungry as I thought I was. One day all I wanted was water and sleep, so thats what I did. Another day all I wanted was pickles and diet coke (I never drink diet coke!). Another day, a garden salad with really good ranch. And water, oh how I want to drink water!

I woke up one morning feeling groggy and I automatically went to my coffee maker. I had to stop and think if this was really what my body wanted. Nope, a big glass of water and an orange. Huh, imagine my suprise when I perked right up!

I know that I have messed up a few times. I think I want something and then I eat it and I realize, no, thats not really what I wanted. I had rushed into eating it and didn’t stop to listen first. There is also the problem of eating something just because its there. I was making my kids breakfast and gobbled up some bacon, because it was there, in front of my face, sizzling deliciously. Is that what my body really wanted? No.

Another problem is eating because I think I should. I mean, I was taught to eat three meals a day with a few snacks in between. There is that food pyramid we’re suppose to follow. And plus, its the holidays and all those yummy foods are begging us to eat them. And dont let me leave out the beverages. Coffee, wine and energy drinks are my friends! Do I really need them or are they habits?

Its time to find out.

I am going to experiment with this, for 30 days, starting today, 12/12/12.

The rules:
1. Meditate, listen and obey my innermost instincts of what my body craves.  I will also include exercising and sleep in this. Do I feel like running, going for a walk, or laying around?
2. Write about it. The ups & downs. How I feel. What I’m learning. What I’m eating. Etc.

What do I want to accomplish with this?
1. I want to feel good, plain and simple.
2. I want to be healthy and live forever.
3. I want to prove to myself that my body is smarter than society.

So, this is day one and my first challenge is going to the grocery store. I need to buy food for my kids and also, what do I  want? Will what I want today be what I want tomorrow? I am also going to weigh myself and take measurements, just to see if this makes a difference in these areas after 30 days.

Today I am craving oranges, gingersnaps and fish. Fish? I never eat fish, but I’ll give it a go. I might have to come to the store everyday to get what I want for that day, and thats okay. I’ll do it, its worth it and maybe after a while I will have a stocked of kitchen of what my body needs the most.

This is going to be an adventure and I do love adventures.

Leave a Reply

