Alcohol & Electronic Challenge – Day 3 of 30

Of all the times to go on a 30 day alcohol fast, I could have REALLY used a glass of wine last night!  Yesterday was such an emotional roller coaster, by the time I got home from work last night, I could barely put one foot in front of the other.   Instead of wine, I pulled on my snuggly pajamas, grabbed my book and curled up on the couch and escaped into the realm of the Seven Kingdoms (Game of Thrones) until I fell asleep.

This morning I was groggy and had a massive headache.   My emotions from yesterday were still raw, so I grabbed my shoes and went on a two hour run/walk.  The sun was shining, the snow was melting and it was a brisk 30-something degrees.  My legs felt like lead and apparently I haven’t used my ass muscles in a while, ouch.  Other than that, I got my blood flowing and my nerves calmed down.  It was worth it.

Only parts of it were this snowy.

Only parts of it were this snowy.

 

The anti-electronic challenge has been going pretty good.  The kids didn’t fight me on it at all and they are figuring out things to do and ways to entertain themselves. My son is totally into his book that he cannot stop reading, which makes me super happy. My girl is perfectly content with her Barbies for now.  I’ve been reading to them at bedtime and they’ve really enjoyed that, me too. It seems they like to draw a lot. They make up these crazy characters and then each draw their version of them. It’s pretty cool. I will have to hook up my scanner to show you guys.  I’m proud of them.

Hopefully we can keep this up and keep finding fun ways to spend our time.   Outings to the library today and maybe the roller rink this weekend if they get all their chores done. A chore chart is definitely in order!

 

Me on my walk/run.

Me on my walk/run.

 

Leave a Reply

